ERC - Driving European Club Rugby Competition

Amlin Challenge Cup
Heineken Cup
Cardiff 2014
Heineken Cup | The Epic Journey

The Epic Journey

Qualification Process

24 top flight clubs from six countries compete in the Heineken Cup. These will include a minimum of:
France 6 clubs (selected by performance in Top 14 Championship)
England 6 clubs (selected by performance in Aviva Premiership and LV=Cup)
Wales 3 clubs (selected by performance in RaboDirect Pro12)
Ireland 3 clubs (selected by performance in RaboDirectPro12)
Scotland 2 clubs (selected by performance in RaboDirect Pro12)
Italy 2 clubs (selected by performance in RaboDirect Pro12)

Both the 2012/13 Heineken Cup and Amlin Challenge Cup winners will qualify automatically for the 2013/14 Heineken Cup season and will each earn an extra Heineken Cup spot for their countries - over and above their guaranteed allocations.

However, England and France, who have six automatic places, will only be allowed a maximum of seven clubs. So if either country wins both the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup, then the second additional spot will pass on to the club with the highest ERC European Ranking who has not already qualified, from any of the other five nations.

For the 2013/14 season, the 23rd Heineken Cup team comes from Ireland because Leinster won the 2012/13 Amlin Challenge Cup, while the the 24th Heineken Cup club comes from France since Toulon won the Heineken Cup.

Social Media
© 2018 Content © ERC, Statistical data © ERC Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM